Engin Firat: Harambee Stars Head Coach

FKF-PL top-scorer Benson Omalla who has netted 19 goals in his 19 matches played has been surprisingly dropped by Harambee Stars head coach Engin Firat from the squad that is set to face Iran on 28th March 2023.

He is among the five players that were released today. The rest of the players include Swedish-based defensive midfielder Collins Sichenje, experienced striker Masud Juma– currently on loan in Saudi Arabia, alongside the Bandari duo of Mohammed Siraj (left back) and center-back Andrew Juma.

On Tuesday, four more players were released: AFC Leopards goalkeeper Levis Opiyo, KCB centre back Maurice Ojwang and Nzoia Sugar duo of Joseph Mwangi and Hassan Beja.

However, some of the released players- Collins Sichenje, Masud Juma, Alvin Mang’eni were injured hence the decision from the Harambee Stars tactician.

Kakamega Homeboyz’ midfielder Moses Mudavadi did not honor the call up which make the 34-man provisional squad reduce to 23 players who are now the last “man” standing ahead of the international friendly.


Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (Kenya Police), Ian Otieno (Zesco), Bryne Odhiambo (KCB).

Defenders: Joseph Okumu (Gent), Brian Mandela (Sundowns), Johnstone Omurwa (Estrela), Eric Ouma (AIK), David Ochieng (Mathare United), Daniel Anyembe (Viborg), Daniel Sakari (Tusker), Abud Omar (Kenya Police).

Midfielders: Amos Nondi (Ararat), Richard Odada (Philadelphia Union), Teddy Akumu (Sagan Tosu), Alpha Onyango (Gor Mahia), Kenneth Muguna (Azam), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Duke Abuya (Kenya Police), Wilkims Ochieng (FC Koper), Victor Omune (AFC Leopards).

Strikers: Elvis Rupia (Kenya Police), Alfred Scriven (IL Hodd), Michael Olunga (Al Duhail).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *