Manchester City forward Erling Haaland has been voted the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year.

Haaland (22) has enjoyed a superb first season with City, scoring 51 goals in all competitions to help Pep Guardiola’s side top the Premier League ahead of Arsenal with one game in hand and he has also helped the citizens to reach the FA Cup final as well as the semi-finals of the Champions League.

The Norway international received 82 per cent of the FWA vote, ahead of Arsenal duo Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard. He said: “To win the FWA award in my first season in English football is an honour. I try every single day to be the best I can be and to be recognised like this means a lot to me.“I have loved my time at City so far. My team-mates are incredible and provide me with the chances to score goals. I want to thank all of them because I could not have won this award without them. I also owe so much to Pep and the team behind the team here at City. I am now focused on ensuring I finish the season as strongly as possible and helping City win trophies.”

The former Borussia Dortmund forward is also in pole position to scoop the golden boot in English Premier League where he has scored 35 goals 9 goals ahead of Tottenham Hostpurs Harry Kane who has scored 26 goals this season.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *